Kindergarten- So it begins!

Orientation was on Wednesday, August 8th, just two days before classes started. Of course Lil Bit had her teacher wrapped around her little finger already. The theme of the class was a royal kingdom, and she had absolutely no qualms about being referred to as a princess.

We learned her bus number and the time her bus would pick her up- 645… yes, thats right, 645 in the morning. I am not a morning person. I’m glad I did not work that morning as i ended up pulling an all-nighter in the fear that i would not wake up in time!

I was worried about Lil Bit being afraid of getting on the bus, but she couldn’t wait to get on! She was so excited. I sat worried the whole day, hoping she got to school okay.

By the time 3pm came i was going stir crazy. No one told me what time the bus would drop her off so i waited outside for a half hour… yeah, i’m one of those crazy moms, but it’s okay 🙂

Anyway, i get to the bus and she is not getting off… scared? yes! I step up the stairs and ask the driver where she is and she called out to Lil Bit… she fell asleep. I was laughing for a good 5 minutes about that.

She loves her school and had a great time with her classmates. She did tell me however that one of the boys in her class had hit her in the head. Before her first day, i stuck a note in her folder for the teacher, mainly telling her that Lil Bit is emotional and tends to get upset easily. I also mentioned her habit of being less than social. Her second day of school, Monday, went well too.

But then Tuesday came along… did it have to really? *Insert heavy sigh here*

Apparently the teacher has a behavior chart of sorts which was explained to the students on the first day. There are different colored ‘clips’ that will move depending on the behavior. Green is good, blue is warning, and red is in trouble (I think that’s how it goes, i will have to ask Lil Bit tomorrow)

Lil Bit got red that day…

Along with the red mark on her behavior calendar, i got a note with check marks: running around in the lunchroom, running around during lecture, not sitting on the carpet when directed, crawling under tables…

Oh goddess let me pull my hair out now!

I signed the form and the calendar, then wrote another letter to the teacher. I told her to watch out for any triggers that cause a tantrum or the bad behavior. Lil Bit is well behaved, but she upsets very easily. If something isn’t done HER way, a meltdown ensues. I also mentioned the fact that Lil Bit told me Friday AND Monday that a boy in her class had hit her. I do not want her to be pushed around and bullied.

I hope my words are taken to heart and the letters are being read as i have yet to receive any sort of response.. kind of annoying actually.

Anyway, due to that behavior, Lil Bit lost all TV and video privileges for the rest of the day. I spoke with her that morning as well, telling her that a red clip would lose computer AND TV privileges.

That was yesterday. Today is Wednesday and i picked her up from the bus with all smiles. She was so excited and happy. She told me she had a great day and got no red clip.

Mommy was VERY relieved and happy.

Let’s hope she can keep the streak up.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 590 hits
Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

