Another Red Clip Day

I’ve got a new Acronym: PMHO= Pull My Hair Out (at least I think it’s new… Well, it’s mine now. Where do I apply for the copyright? 😉 )

At least the Lil Bit is honest when I ask how her day was.

Me: “How was your day?”

Lil Bit: “Not good”

Me: “Why?”

Lil Bit: “I got a red clip. I was good in the morning, but I didn’t want to move my clip when the teacher said to put it on blue. Then she moved it to red!”

Me: “Why did she move it to red?”

Me Mentally: ARGHH! 

Apparently she had a great morning and didn’t have problems until after lunch. So the question is why? What changed between morning and afternoon?

Lunch is the only thing I can pin point.

So, I will be changing up her lunch to see if that would help. Today was the first day I gave her Oreos with her lunch, so obviously that will change first. Maybe it was too much sugar?

Ms. H’s (her teacher’s) note said Lil Bit was talking during lecture and then yelling ‘no’ when told to move her clip but honestly what child will move something they know means they’re in trouble. ‘move your clip to blue’ meaning ‘you’re in trouble’… what 5-year-old will just be like ‘okay! Let me get right on that, knowing I’ll be in trouble!’

On the bright side, i did finally get a message about the notes I’ve sent. She wants to meet with me for a conference as soon as possible and asked for my schedule. I’m hoping that we can meet up early next week and find out what exactly the problem is. Because there is a problem. Lil Bit is a good child, there is ALWAYS a reason behind her behavior. Now to just pin point the problem.

Lil Bit attended Primrose School for Preschool and Pre-K and it was the best thing I have ever done. It costs an arm and a leg, but was well worth it. They worked very hard with her and worked with me when addressing the outbursts.Her teachers especially worked with Lil Bit and me. They would keep an eye out for specific ‘triggers’ to her outbursts. They were very attentive and even kept her away from students that would cause her problems. It was a great experience and I was sad to have to move her schools.

To be honest last year we had her looked at for the possibility of Asperger Syndrome. It wasn’t until after I started seeing the doctor that I heard she was the worst in the field. She ended up diagnosing Lil Bit without a full psychoeducational evaluation. Not to mention she was at an age where it was truly hard to unquestionably diagnose.

I did bring her to the Marcus Autism Center where I was told the diagnosis was wrong and there may be something else going on. There was also the idea that it was ‘Only Child Syndrome’.

For the past 7 months or so, her behavior and outbursts have improved exponentially. I was amazed and hoping that she was growing out of the behavior and I was looking forward to a problem free year, but it looks like it will need to be addressed again. If not for the fact of understanding how to handle the behavior.

Anyhow… another red clip day. No computer and no tv for the rest of the night. She wasn’t happy with me and pulled the crying bit, but she was warned. Fingers crossed tomorrow is a better day. I’ll save the Oreos as after-school snacks on her ‘green clip days’.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Genovese Solomon
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 00:33:40

    “Lectures” really?? Who calls them lectures in k-garten? Stupid clips!! You’re right what child is going to actually move their own clips when their in trouble. On a good note, at least you finally got a response to those notes you were righting. I hope she doesn’t have an attitude about things and is actually helpful and respectful towards you. I have a feeling I’ll be reading a blog about that.

    Reply

    • tinyangel3d
      Aug 17, 2012 @ 00:37:02

      There is a ‘checklist’ that is filled out when they misbehave and sure enough, it lists ‘lectures’. Along with a red check mark, she writes notes detailing the misbehavior. You know i’ll be blogging about the meeting with the teach. We’ll see how it goes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 587 hits
Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

