Yellow clips, Red Clips, and Conferences oh my!

So… Friday wasn’t too bad. Lil Bit came home with a yellow mark on her calendar from swinging her lunch bag around her head. She still lost TV privileges.

Today… well… today is a completely different story. Today she had an all out tantrum- untying shoes constantly, kicking chairs, yelling at the teacher, spitting at classmates, interrupting class time, and making ‘snow angels’ on the carpet during story time.

PMHO… I’m going to be bald by the end of the month.

Part of me wonders if it is what she is eating… she came home with her sandwich and juicebox untouched. I asked wat she at for lunch and she told me a turkey sandwich… umm okay. Why? I asked her what she drank and she told me chocolate milk… once again, I ask why? The chocolate milk sets bells off in my head. I stopped putting cookies in her lunch bag for fear of too much sugar setting her off in the afternoon.

Lil Bit has a peanut/tree nut allergy and has an Epi-pen with her. I pack her lunch to make sure she stays away from anything that may contain those allergens. Her teacher is aware of this fact. Lil Bit has done well not taking food from her classmates, in case of contamination. (ex: mommy bakes PB cookies, then bakes chocolate chip cookies on same pan.) I pack her lunch and that is what i expect her to eat. She has a meal account which i put $20 on in the beginning of the month FOR BREAKFAST. If she has a packed lunch there is no reason for her to buy lunch from the cafeteria.

Add it to a list of questions I’ll be bringing with me.

The conference is set for tomorrow… during it, i’m going to speak with Ms. H about observing the class. I’ll be more observing her interaction with the students. Lil Bit does better with a strict teacher than one who coddles her.

I’m really concerned about all of this though. All these problems have been on my mind since the middle of last year when I began thinking about sending her to public school. Primrose is a very personal schooling experience. There are more chances for one-on-one conversations with the teachers, more chances for working personally with the students.

So what now? My fears are coming true… I feel an ulcer coming on.

*sigh*

We will see. There’s only so much I can do at home. There HAS to be something setting her off. That is another concern- that something is happening, someone is bothering her, but it goes unnoticed due to the size of the class. I think if i go in and observe there will be no chance to see the problem because the other children will know not to do anything while her mom is there and she will know not to misbehave and throw tantrums because I am there.

How much do you think a spy camera is? I can record the class environment and review it with the teacher… I’m not really serious about that, probably illegal, or against teacher’s rights or something like that… but it is oh so very tempting.

Well, the conference is tomorrow and we will see what happens. If you have any suggestions on what i should bring up with Ms. H, let me know.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 587 hits
Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

