Must this continue? Red Clips raining down…

24th- yellow clip, 27th, 28th. Red Clip days?! Really?

I tell the teacher over and over that transitions and changes to her schedule throw her moods off exponentially, yet they act surprised when she has a substitute in the 2nd week of school and acts out.

I actually got a call from the Assistant Principal yesterday… For my 5-year-old. Can I feel like anymore of a failure? She asked me ‘what works with her’ and my mind drew a blank. I was shocked to get the call as I though she would finally have a good day. But no. She stood in the office with the AP on the phone in her grumpy stance (arms across chest, pouting).

They put me on the phone with her and oh gods, this child has me wrapped around her finger. She sounded like she was going to cry. Her voice was all broken up. When she did make coherent sentences, she told me her clip was on yellow and that she was crawling under chairs and not putting the instruments away in music (same thing the AP told me).

Before we hung up, I told the AP that the best way to get her out of a grumpy mood is to get her to laugh. I told her “Not to make light of her behavior, but to get her in a mood where she will actually listen to what you are saying and respond.” Her moods are ever changing and flip on and off like a switch. Once you get her to smile, then she is reachable.

Goes with her punishments at home too. Once I get her to calm down, I can speak with her calmly and get responses out of her. How can you punish a child if they don’t understand what it is they did wrong? Or at least do not voice it to you?

An upside to the phone call from the AP is that even in the higher offices they acknowledge that she is very intelligent and the top of her class. Makes me very proud… almost made up for the phone call for bad behavior. Almost.

i think a major problem at the moment is she is not being challenged. She has been able to write her name since she was 3 years old, and that is their homework. She is also writing numbers. Granted, previously she did it in an open space instead of between lines, but it’s too easy for her. I am looking forward to her being more challenged in her class.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 590 hits
Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

