Updates!

I’m a slacker.

Ok… not so much as I really have nothing major to report. Lil Bit has been fabulous in school. She has had only 1 or 2 red clips this month and is even with Green and Yellow (in order of best to worst: green, yellow, blue, red) and even then it is due to not finishing her morning work or her workstation assignment.

She has also been absolutely amazing me with how easily she catches onto her sight words. The class is currently on Purple, while Lil Bit is 2 lists ahead, finishing up on her green words. We’ll probably start working with orange beginning next week. This gets a little tricky when she gets assignments such as ‘write sight words 3 times each’. I have to look back to make sure she is doing the right words!

I look at some of the words they expected her to learn and I was very surprised. I mean, even thought it is a number, thirteen is a long word, is it not? The hardest word to date was ‘of’ which she kept reading as ‘off’. I don’t blame her, as I read the word moe along the lines of ‘uv’ so it is a bit confusing. She’s got it now though.

The green words are taking some work because they are tricky. They include words where some letters are silent such as where, have, name and who. It gets a bit tricky, but she has once again surprised me and is picking them up easily. The green sight words she has mastered so far are: an, to, cut, is, it, at, as, glue, have. The one’s we are still working on are read (getting used to ‘e’ and ‘a’ sounding like ‘ee’), went (too many silent letters in the list, she keeps asking if the ‘w’ is silent here as well), where, why, write (white vs write. She understands the color ‘white’, but has difficulty separating it from write where the ‘w’ is silent), who (even with the silent ‘w’ difficult associating one ‘o’ with the sound of ‘oo’), name (understands silent ‘e’, but not short ‘a’, used to sounding out with long ‘a’ like in ‘have’)

I’ll try to get an updated reading video posted. She really is doing absolutely amazing.

Nothing else is really going on. We have plans to go to New York for my sister’s baby shower, but i cannot post the date here because it is supposed to be a surprise for her. I’m excited about the visit, but nervous as well. It’s been a while since I’ve been to NY.

We also have plans to visit in November, the week of Thanksgiving. I’m using this week as a sort of ‘test run’ to see if I am comfortable living in the city again. If I’m not then come June/July we will move to Florida instead of NY. As much as I want to be around family (as it is the only reason i am considering moving back to NY) feeling safe is important as well.

Living in GA with not a lot of friends or family around has turned me into a sort of recluse. I don’t get out much, if at all, and I abhor being in crowded places. It’s just me and Lil Bit most of the time with the occasional outing.

I’m looking forward to the week that Bella gets 4 green clips as I promised her a trip to ‘Chuck E Cheeses’ when that happens. I may not like the crowds, but it will be nice to get out for a bit.

Well, that’s it until next time. Time flies when you’re having fun, but I’ll try not to leave it for so long again.

+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+

Lil Bit’s reading progress

Sight words: Red: and, the, go, to, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, zero; Purple:  had, he, I, see, has, you, yellow, orange, red, blue, green, black, brown, purple, white, pink; Yellow: eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, nineteen, twenty, in, am, we, of; Green: an, to, cut, is, it, at, as, glue

Books: ‘Casey Cat Has a Hat’ – reads on own without pictures to guide

Updated list: big, books, dress, up, fun, ship, land, sing, is, look, seeds, fall, from, for, on, all, mask, under, beat, ball, bump, shy, over, no, nose, need, help, cat, has, hat, rat, bat, and, mat, taps, map, cap, rap, fan, van, ran, to, fat, mad, bed, pet, fed, in, the, go, to, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, zero, had, he, I, see, has, you, yellow, orange, red, blue, green, black, brown, purple, white, pink

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dahlia
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:54:30

    I was getting ready to ask you why you haven’t updated your blog in so long. lol Glad you’re back at it. I agree, thirteen is a big word! I’m glad to hear she’s doing so great it class too. Such a smart girl! Enjoy your trips to NY. What part of FL are you considering moving to? I lived in Key Largo FL and absolutely loved it there but I couldn’t stand being that far away from my momma so I came back to TX. lol

    Reply

    • tinyangel3d
      Sep 28, 2012 @ 15:21:37

      I was looking at the Orlando area, Hunters Creek to be exact. It was named one of the best places to live in America by CNN’s Money Magazine. Since I read that, I’ve looked at the area and it is inexpensive but had some top rated schools.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 590 hits
Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

