New York and Update

Greetings all!

First of all, I’m very sorry for the delay in updating, but we have had a busy couple of weeks.

We had a weekend trip to NY from October 5th to the 8th for my sister’s surprise Baby Shower. I picked Lil Bit up from school on Friday and wanted to drive straight to the airport.

But of course, as things go, this wasn’t perfect. Just as we passed a turn the house “Mommy, I have to go potty”. So we stopped at the house and I let her in to run and go before getting back into the car and driving.

I parked at the Parking Spot 2, because I hate airport parking. The driver was so friendly and helpful 🙂

The airport was fairly empty, surprisingly, so we got through security quickly. The only hold up was them making me open my sealed “Lunchable” that I had brought for Lil Bit. (With her Peanut Allergy, I figured better safe than sorry.) This was one that had a bottle of water that they wanted to check.

We ended up there only twenty minutes before it was time to board, so I think we made good time.

New York was fabulous.

Lil Bit’s Abuela picked us up from the airport and grabbed us some Plato Tipico from a Colombian restaurant. Can you say Yummy?

Unfortunately we couldn’t spend a lot of time together since it was late and my grandma was waiting on us. I didn’t want her to have to wait for me :(. By the time we got there is was around 930pm (2130 if you will). Lil Bit didn’t fall asleep until around midnight, with me following about an hour later.

Of course she was up early jumping on me the next day.

Saturday we headed to my mom’s house after finding out that Lil Bit really likes English Muffins, Cream Cheese, and Raspberry Jam… things i don’t buy because if she didn’t like them they would go bad.

I spent some time with my mom before heading out to the hall where we set up the Baby Shower. I was a bit OCD with the balloons, but they were my babies! I bought them with specific centerpieces in mind, so almost had a meltdown when i saw someone else near my balloons.

I think it all worked out well though 🙂

Lil Bit had a blast playing with a balloon while we were waiting for the honoree to arrive. I was happy she had something to keep her occupied.

The shower was fantastic. My sister and her soon-to-arrive bundle of joy were spoiled rotten. Very deservedly so.

Sunday we had planned to shop, but of course it had to be rainy and crappy out all day. So we stayed in. I helped my sis and mom go through the shower gifts to pull out things that they wanted to wash before hand and also just to know exactly what they got.

There is now a HUGE bag of clothes for my sis’ hubby to get washed at the laundromat. Poor thing isn’t going to know what to do with all those tiny clothes! LOL!!

Sunday night i stayed up talking with my grandma. I’m not sure why, but I always felt that I got along a lot better with my grandparents than my sis, brother, or cousins. I don’t know if it’s more patience, but I never had issues with them.

It was really nice to spend time with her either way and we spoke well into the night.

Lil Bit and I left the next day. We got on the plane only to be told we were delayed and hour and would be spending that hour on the runway… I was very happy for picking up some activity books for Lil Bit and packing her crayons on a carry-on. (Actually I think every person that saw her walking along with her rolling princess luggage fell in love immediately lol).

We got home around 930 that night. It was very hard to get up the next day and I was not feeling well at all. After Lil Bit was picked up by the bus, I went back to sleep and slept until 1 in the afternoon. I think i was a bit run down because of the cold weather in NY on Sunday and then all the traveling through the weekend.

Either way I was fine by Wednesday.

+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+

Now for the updates! Before we left, Lil Bit had 4 days of Green Clips. On Monday she got yellow, but was great the rest of the week. Upon returning, she got another two days of clips (we flew in monday, she had class Tuesday and Wednesday and was off thursday and friday. This week, she had a green clip on monday and a yellow clip yesterday, ending the streak of green clips.

But i am not disappointed. i am so proud of my Lil Bit!!

And with her reading? She came home Monday with a new toy from the treasure box! Meaning she got through another card. We are now working on her ‘pink’ sight words.

It is so exciting to watch her learn. And even more exciting to see her excited about learning!!

Report cards are coming home today and I can’t wait to see what they have for a kindergartener.

+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+

Lastly, Lil Bit is loving her dance classes. We went to her jazz/contempo class last week, but missed ballet and tap. Her having no school on Friday threw my schedule off horribly and I didn’t even realize we missed her class until it was 8pm!

Saturday, she had tumbling class and she is doing better. I have been working with her on her ‘bridge’ and she is getting more flexible.

Next thing is working on her arm strength. They do push ups in class, so I will start incorporating that at home as well.

This weekend her Dance Studio also decided that her class will be performing in a competition in February and April. It is very exciting! We are currently coming up with ideas for fundraising and I’ve got a whole list to bring forward at the next parent’s meeting.

All in all, life is good. I am still researching whether or not we will be moving. I’ve been looking more closely at NY… but am still undecided. I’ve got time, I just hate being between decisions.

+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+

I don’t have all of Lil Bit’s words, so I will post an updated list next time. She is still 4 cards ahead of her class though…

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 587 hits
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Spark: A Creative Anthology

Spark is a quarterly anthology accepting Poetry, Flash Fiction, Short Stories, and Creative Non-Fiction. We encourage both established and emerging talent.

My Life as a Dancem0m

Stories inspired by life as a mother of 2 (one competitive dancer, one who dances and competes in karate). Also, stepmom to 3 teenage boys. I'm also a dancer, and an Early Childhood Teacher. I've been a two time walker of the Susan G. Komen 3-Day Walk for the Cure, two time participant in the Relay for Life, and so far, have jumped into a cold lake once for the Polar Plunge, MN.

Joel Robison Photography

Going crazy one day at a time!

Jay's Photography Blog

memories and art created one click at a time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

